Combine "Close" and "Cancel" into one function.
We prefer to always "Close" instead of "Cancel" an order for several reasons. It would be really helpful, and less confusing, if the two options were merged into one and it always behaved like "Close".
The reasons we prefer "Close" include:
Most Print Journal-Subscription orders will still have print issues that need to be received after the liaison has decided to end a subscription. If the order is Closed these issues can still be received. If the order is Cancelled they cannot.
If an order is Closed it cannot be linked to an invoice unless you search for PO lines/titles and filter your search to All orders. Because a Closed order normally won’t link to an invoice this will prevent erroneous linking. If we receive an EDI invoice any Closed orders won’t be automatically linked. Cancelled orders will link automatically which can cause confusion and possible overspending of funds.
For Print and Electronic Book One Time orders Close is the only available option. Using Close for other order types helps promote system-wide consistency.