Session Timeout Warning
It would be most helpful if a 'Session Timeout' warning could be displayed a certain amout of time before the session actually ends. Included in the warning could be the options to 'keep me logged in' or 'log out now'.
The option to show a "Session timeout" message and to allow extending the session will be available in May 2023 release.
'Keep me signed in' made it through NERS :-)
Possible since May 2023.
"Display warning message for the user before the session times out, and provide an option to extend the session (for another session or "extend to maximum"). and Provide configuration for the user to choose not to be signed out from his device. With this setting, this user on the specific device won't get session timeout. This means that no session timeout will be sent from Primo in this case (The user will be signed out when the browser is closed or when the remote authentication system will sign him off - as done today)."
NERS 7809, round 2 open for voting now.
NERS 7809, open for voting now:
"Enable patrons to check 'Keep me signed in'"
> The issue with Primo timing out after having typed in a complex query is causing much
> frustration for lots of end users
Tone Christine Bøgh commented
A session timeout warning would be a great improvement in Primo. The issue with Primo timing out after having typed in a complex query is causing much frustration for lots of both end users and librarians. This has just come up in a user satisfaction survey that we have conducted. Both a session timeout warning and an automatic refresh is needed.
Nili, seems like it was planned for the Primo February 2017 (2018?) Release. What happened?
> We examine the option for providing “keep me logged in” in primo.
Yes, please, this option is really missing.
(Under review since 2017?)
paul wei commented
Currently user only realize they are signed out after they've put in the second query. JS won't kick in unless an action taken. And when users see the Signed Out alert, their second search term is not copied in the search box, and their first search term has been reset (lost) so we have users complained they have to type everything all over again. In an ideal situation, people should know they are about to be signed out, and when they are signed out, the message is stated.